Botany Babes

The adventures of PlantWoman, Sundew Kid and Black Eyed Susan

My poor pretty flowers…. October 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — sundewkid @ 1:35 pm

I was out in the garden yesterday, during those short periods when it stopped raining, and I noticed that my tub of violas, that had been planted to add a little colour to the garden for winter, had been attacked! About 90% of the flowers had been eaten by slugs and snails…..my problem now is that I don’t want to have to use slug pellets, but I don’t have any kinder ways to ‘discourage’ them, and I would really like to have flowers throughout winter!

We’ll have to see how the battle between me and the slugs/snails go this winter….

 

One Response to “My poor pretty flowers….”

  1. camille Says:

    Oh! I just happened onto your blog and saw this post. You can put out some cups of beer and the slugs are attracted to it and drown. I’m not sure which beer is best but hey, beer is a pretty organic way to deal with that problem!


Leave a Reply

